top of page


Board and Staff members



Board Members:​

Bill Etzler, President
Director of Business Development at Engineering Resources, Inc. Bill chairs the Executive Committee and chairs the Finance and Development Committees, and serves on the Strategic Planning Task Force. Term: 01/01/2022 to 12/31/2024

Todd Laubhan, Vice President 

Branch Manager at 3Rivers FCU. Todd is a wildlife photographer and nature enthusiast. He has been involved with LRWP since 2012.  He enjoys spending time on the preserves with his family and advocating for nature conservation in Northeast Indiana. Todd serves on the Finance, Development, and Land Committees. Term: 04/01/2022 -12/21/2024

Brian Troutt, Treasurer

Commercial Relationship Manager III and V.P. for Old National Bank, Fort Wayne. Brian serves on the Finance Committee. Term: 01/01/2023 to 12/31/2025

Amber Kimmel, Secretary

Amber grew up in Fort Wayne and has always been interested in conservation. Her background is in microbiology and environmental health and safety. She enjoys spending time in nature, working on art projects, traveling, and reading. Amber serves on the Development and Land Committees. Term: 08/2022 – 12/31/2024

Thom Maher
Retired Vice President of Human Resources at BRC Rubber & Plastics, Fort Wayne. Thom serves on the Land Committee. Term: 01/01/2023 to 12/31/2025

Karen Surguine
Realtor with Coldwell Banker Roth Wehrly Graber, Fort Wayne, and an Indiana Master Naturalist. Karen serves on the Development Committee. Term: 01/02/2022 to 12/31/2024

John Goss
Asian Carp Project Coordinator with Indiana Wildlife Federation, retired from Indiana Department of Natural Resources and chairs the Strategic Planning Task Force. Term: 0
1/01/2021 to 12/31/2023

Mark Jordan
Associate Professor of Biology at Purdue University Fort Wayne. Mark has expertise in wildlife conservation and serves on the Land Committee. Term: 01/01/2021 to 12/31/2023

Susie Meyer
Retired English teacher who loves bird-watching, gardening, and being outside. Susie serves on the Development and Education Committees. Term: 01/01/2021 to 12/31/2023

Julia Rhoades

Retired Nurse, Lutheran Hospital.  Julia is a long-time volunteer at the Chief Richardville House with the Myaamia People.  Julia serves on the Education Committee.  Term: 01/01/23 to 12.31.2025

Phil Bloom

Phil Bloom is a freelance journalist who worked 33 years in newspapers, including 28 at The Journal Gazette where he was an award-winning outdoors writer. He later worked as Communications Director for the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. He is a Life member of the Outdoor Writers Association of America, a two-time past president of that group and recipient of its J. Hammond Brown Award for lifetime service to OWAA. Phil serves on the Development Committee. Term: 01/01/2021 to 12/31/2023

Amy Cropped.jpg
Maraiah Cropped.jpg
Aly Cropped.jpg
IMG-4058 (1).jpg
Don Cropped.jpg


Amy Silva, Executive Director
B.S. in Park and Recreation Administration; former Superintendent, Allen County Parks and Recreation Department; a founding board member of the NIPSCO Environmental Challenge Fund; Amy has a passion for wetlands, nature preserves and restoration projects.


Maraiah Russell, Preserves and Programs Manager

Maraiah graduated from Purdue University West Lafayette with a B.S. in Veterinary Technology. She has worked as an advocate for wildlife conservation both personally and professionally for many years.


Aly Munger, Wetland Educator

Aly graduated from the University of Saint Francis with a B.A. in Pre-Art Therapy, and Master of Arts in Environmental Education from Goshen College, Indiana. Most recently, Aly spent her time in Galveston, TX teaching others about the importance of coastal wetland and prairie ecosystems.

Chelsea Hile Director of Development and Engagement

Chelsea has 5 years of marketing, management, communication and community engagement experience. She enjoys meeting new people and fostering relationships. She has a passion for plants, people, and education.


Don Cunningham, Lead Preserve Steward
Don is an IPFW graduate in Biology and an Indiana Master Naturalist. He was previously on the maintenance staff at Fox Island County Park. Don enjoys hiking, backpacking, and running.

Rebecca Gazarik, Preserves and Volunteer Steward.
Rebecca graduated with a degree in Illustration, and is an Indiana Master Naturalist. She has a passion for the preservation of native ecosystems. In her free time she enjoys painting nature, and her works can be found in juried shows across the state.

bottom of page